Recent posts: RELEASES

Martin Merkel – Constantin LP

Martin Merkel – Constantin LP [Platipus]

01. Constantin
02. Wonderful Life
03. Little Wonder
04. Tiefentaucher
05. Parthenon
06. Der Riese Milz
07. Seelenfarben
08. Black Light
09. Ashikaga
10. Patagonia

(Platipus Records) PLATMU26LP
Format: Digital
Global Release: 12.03.18 / Beatport Exclusive 26.02.18

Martin Merkel emerged from the shadows at the end of last year with his first single release for Simon Berry’s Platipus Records. This was an introduction and taste of his self-described brand of “Soulful Techno”, steeped in complex emotions and with an attention to musical detail that comes from many years of dedication to his chosen craft. The exciting collection of music is now revealed in its entirety as his ‘Constantin’ album – a creative project inspired by his emotional journey over the past year and honouring the recent birth of his son. Martin’s joining forces with the legendary Platipus imprint also marks a bold new direction in the label’s evolution, as its creative ethos develops in an exciting Tech House / Melodic Techno direction.

A somewhat mysterious figure within the European Techno scene, this maverick German DJ/Producer has often stepped away from the egotistical glare of publicity, preferring his music to do the talking. Martin Merkel is a master of sonic excellence and musicality, his creations have previously often crept out on the likes of Cinematique, Bonzai, Secondary Tones, JOOF, Monkey Business, Neverending and his own Shelter 54 imprint. Now, under the auspicious guidance of Platipus Records the most exciting new chapter of his career is about to begin.

The album opens with the almost tranquil, low-slung groove of title track ‘Contantin’. Its teasing, hypnotic pulsating motifs and distinctive layers of intricate, heart melting, melodies are the perfect entrée for what is to come. Whether its the bubbling percussion and irresistible, soaring energy of ‘Wonderful Life’, the immediately infectious ‘Little Wonder’, or the glorious symphonic synths of ‘Tiefentaucher’, Martin Merkel’s music has a timeless quality that makes exceptional music become so treasured.

Martin Merkel creates his own unique, masterful blend of electronic music by utilising switching, ever-evolving elements as he layers atmospheric excellence over deeply powerful percussive grooves – check the fizzing dynamism of ‘Parthenon’. He is equally comfortable changing down a gear for the snappy, techy ‘Der Riese Milz’, diving into the darkness on ‘Seelenfarben’, and building superb elements of growling tension through ‘Black Light’. Every track is an homage to the intense emotional power that can be expressed and transmitted through synthesized machine music, none more so that the towering, stunning finale ‘Patagonia’.

Originally inspired as an artist by the experimental attitude of Italo Disco and the embryonic Techno scene, via parties at the likes if Dorian Grey and Omen (Frankfurt) and Tresor (Berlin), Martin Merkel’s nascent career saw him develop an early love of analogue synthesisers – and saw him fill his studio with a desirable collection of Moog, Roland and Waldorf machinery. In recent years he has moved towards a more compact, travel-friendly digital studio set-up, but his love of synthesisers remains a defining characteristic of his uniquely distinctive musical output today and his ‘Constantin’ album is a perfect testament to that love.

Artist Info:

Platipus Info:


26 February 2018 ARTISTS  NEWS  RELEASES Read more

Union Jack – ‘Cactus’ 2017 Remixes

Union Jack – ‘Cactus’ 2017 Remixes

1. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (Jonno Brien Remix)

2. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (Adam Kent Remix)

3. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (OOOD Remix)

4. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (Airwave’s Dark and Long Mix)

5. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (Quietman Remix)

6. Union Jack ‘Cactus’ (Original Mix Remastered)

Originally released in 1994, ‘Cactus’ is regarded as one of Union Jack’s finest moments. 23 years on, despite a plethora of requests, no remixes have ever been commissioned…until now.

Irish Techno DJ/Producer and rising star Jonno Brien originally got the ball rolling last year when he sent in his remix out of the blue. It was quite simply too good to be ignored. Carl Cox, who was one of only a handful of DJ’s to be sent the mix, hammered it worldwide and included it as one of his highlights at the Closing Party @ Space, Ibiza.

Adam Kent serves up a driving semi-spangled tech houser.

Psychedelic sorcerers OOOD remain faithful to the prickly original but slam it into the 21st planet and beyond.

Airwave’s Laurent reappears with an extended gloaming exploration into Cactaceae cornucopia.

After a long hiatus, Quietman’s Laurence and Wilf emerge from a shimmering mirage with a sublime slice of desert sunrise.

‘Cactus – 2017 Remixes’ will be released 12th June 2017 on Beatport. Global release 27th June 2017 on Platipus.

13 June 2017 ARTISTS  NEWS  RELEASES Read more

Platipus Archive 11

20 Remastered Classics featuring: Oliver Leib aka L.S.G / S.O.L., Union Jack, Dino Lenny aka Indiana, Chab, Van Bellem, Art Of Trance, Orkidea, Terra Ferma, POB, Moogwai, Oliver Klein, Steve Gibbs, I-Ching, Trigger, Catalyast, Greg Murray, Jane Kumada, Blu Peter, Healium​, Kansai and Clanger.

Released: 13 March 2017

13 March 2017 NEWS  RELEASES Read more

Art Of Trance ‘Curve Bender’

Art Of Trance​ ‘Curve Bender’ [Platipus Records​]

After recent success with ‘Firebird’ and ‘Ultrafoxx’, Art Of Trance returns once more with ‘Curve Bender’.

A Voluminous hoover-bass anchors proceedings with saturated morphing percussion and hypnotic shards of light.

Accompanied by a rather satisfying double-ended Barone-Bender remix doppleganger.

PLATMU95 Platipus Records
Global Release: 27/02/2017


27 February 2017 NEWS  RELEASES Read more

1 2 3 4